Homepage | Archives | Calendar of Events | Exploring Akron | Death Notices | People & Places | Faith & Worship | Panther Telegram | Get email news alerts | About Us

Copley-Fairlawn board hires principal, assistant principal

7/4/2013 - West Side Leader
      permalink bookmark

By Pam Lifke

The Copley-Fairlawn City Schools Board of Education hired a new principal for Arrowhead Primary School and a new assistant principal for Copley-Fairlawn Middle School (CFMS).

The board, at its June 25 meeting, hired Renee Foerster to replace Andrew LaBadie as principal of Arrowhead. LaBadie resigned his position effective with the end of the school year. Christopher Black is the new assistant principal at CFMS, replacing Beverly Parker, who retired.

“I’m very pleased to have them both as part of our administration team,” said Superintendent Brian Poe. “They’re both highly professional and have strong backgrounds in curriculum.”

Foerster previously was a teacher and principal intern in the Nordonia Hills City School District. Her background also includes teaching positions in Olentangy Local Schools and Norfolk, Va., schools. The Stow resident earned a bachelor of arts degree in elementary education from Youngstown State University and a master’s degree in education administration from The University of Akron.

Black previously was an assistant principal at Riverside High School in Painesville. He also has served as a teacher and assistant athletic director with Tuslaw Local Schools in Massillon. The Massillon resident earned a bachelor’s degree in integrated social studies from Kent State University and a master’s degree in educational administration from Ashland University.

Foerster and Black were awarded two-year contracts beginning Aug. 1.

The board also recognized Academic Challenge team members who competed in the National Academic Championship June 8-10 in Chicago.

Members of the Copley High School (CHS) team, which finished third in the competition, were Manit Jain, Kerry Crowley, Grant Stouffer and Robert Wagner, according to the district. The CFMS A Team, with members William Gao, Zachary Varley, Cristina Lee and Kevin Du, finished seventh. CFMS B Team, consisting of Thomas Varley, Pranav Muthigi, Hope Yashnik, Seth Loellner and Samantha Darr, finished second in its division, according to information provided by the district.

In other action, the board:

  • approved stipends from universities to student-teacher supervising teachers;
  • accepted a donation of $34,469.64 to the athletic department from the Copley All Sports Booster Club;
  • approved adoption of textbooks;
  • approved a board policy dealing with evaluation of professional staff;
  • accepted the resignations of tutors Jason Collins, Joy Goodenow and Clark Pope and teachers David Edmonds, Dawna Horn and Christopher Meyer;
  • granted unpaid parental leave to Copley High School teacher Nadine Crocker, CFMS teacher Ann King and high school Guidance Counselor Jenean Morganti;
  • employed for the 2013-14 school year intervention specialists Jason Collins, Karen de Neuf-Smith and Meghan Morris; and
  • awarded supplemental and coaching contracts.

The school board’s next meeting is set for 7 p.m. July 16 in the Main Office Conference Room at Copley High School, located at 3797 Ridgewood Road.

      permalink bookmark